top of page

Frederick Kroetsch

Frederick Kroetsch egg donation

Frederick Kroetsch, with a Film Production degree from Concordia University, is an award-winning documentary maker and director of photography. Awarded with a ‘Top 40 under 40 award,’ he also won 'Hot Docs Short Film Pitch,’ and ‘Most Promising Producer’ at the Producer’s Emergence Program at NAIT.

Frederick is also an alumni of: The Werner Herzog Rogue Film School, The NSI Business for Producers Program, Whistler Doc Lab, and TELUS Fellowship Program. He most recently produced and shot his first feature 
The Secret Society.

He created the TV show Queen of the Oil Patch for APTN, winning him an AMPIA (Alberta Media) Rosie Award for screenwriting. He directed and produced the AMPIA award-winning Last of the Fur Traders for AMI-TV, which follows the adventures of his 85-year-old father in the arctic. His documentary Beneath the Surface, which follows the world’s first quadruple amputee scuba diver, won Best Doc at Bucharest Cinefest and the Jury Prize at Cinema Touching Disability Texas Film Festival. His comedic web series Happy Town, won Best Film at Toronto Beaches Film Festival. His short doc The Match, won Best Short Documentary at Edmonton International Film Festival and Plymouth Film Festival. He has produced thousands of TV segments in Alberta ranging from cattle theft to astronauts during his time
a reporter.


Frederick has also directed and produced dozens of web-series and shorts for TELUS Originals, CBC, Bravo, The NFB, CTV, APTN and Shaw. He has experience in content for children, having produced a pilot for CBC Kids and an AMPIA award winning web-series for TELUS. He is also an experienced director of photography. Frederick filmed Anaana’s Tent, a ground-breaking Inuit kids series filmed in Iqaluit and is airing on Canada’s first Inuit language television station, UVAGUT-TV. He has volunteered for organizations like A Better World, filming non-profit work in Africa and South America. He sat on the board for Documentary Organization of Canada, Alberta Chapter, and is a committee member for The Film and Video Arts Society

of Alberta.

bottom of page